The membership was established to meet the requirement that an association must have at least 10 members. The members are:- the President and four persons nominated by the Rotary Club of Batemans Bay; the President and two persons nominated by the Batemans Bay Soldiers Club and the President and one person nominated by the RSL sub-branch.

Management Committee

The Foundation is an Incorporated Association and provision exists for other persons to be elected to membership where such persons would be of benefit to the Foundation.

Brief History

The Foundation was established by the Rotary Club of Batemans Bay in 1994 and financing was provided by the Club, supplemented by donations from sporting and service clubs and individuals from the Batemans Bay area. Limited funds were available and only one grant of $2500 was awarded in each of the first two years.

The Foundation was governed by a trust deed and this continued for a number of years even though it was cumbersome and restrictive.

After several years the Batemans Bay Soldiers Club and the RSL sub-Branch joined with Rotary as sponsors and both organizations appointed representatives to the Committee. The Committee consisted of 4 persons nominated by Rotary, 2 by the Soldiers Club and 1 by the RSL sub-Branch. These representations were in line with the relative level of funds provided.

As a result of approaches by the Foundation a relationship has developed with educational and corporate institutions so that additional scholarships can be made available. The ANU, University of Canberra and the University of Wollongong have been particularly generous in subsidising scholarships awarded to students going to those institutions.

Scholarships are “topped up” by the Foundation to $3500.

These scholarships are in addition to those provided by the Foundation from funds sourced from other sponsors and donors. Major donors are the Rotary Club of Batemans Bay, Batemans Bay Soldiers Club and the Batemans Bay RSL sub-branch.

In all cases the Foundation is fully responsible for the selection of scholarship recipients


Batemans Bay Youth Foundation - Committee

from left to right: Keith Brewster, Trish Wheeler, Neil Simpson, Ennio Morello, Garry Gray, Peter Wood.